909 Poydras St, #2300, New Orleans, LA 70112

Litigation

litigation-sm First, we are trial lawyers. We became trial lawyers because we enjoy confrontation and contest; we love to win, and we hate to lose, so fighting hard comes naturally.

But we are also litigators. The verb “litigate” has two seemingly inconsistent meanings: To litigate is, first, to vigorously prepare for trial, and, second, to seek to avoid subjecting one’s client to the expenses and risks of a trial. Thus, we view each lawsuit or litigation as a problem that must be solved for our client, and we use the facts that are dealt to us and developed through discovery, as well as the procedural and substantive rules, to attempt to resolve the problem through motion practice without subjecting our client to the vagaries of a trial.

When appropriate, we also employ alternative methods of dispute resolution, such as arbitration, mediation, mock trials, mini-trials, and, most often, effective negotiation, in an effort to secure the best result at the least cost.

Most of the suits we handle fall within the categories of casualty litigation and commercial litigation. Some kinds of lawsuits, such as toxic tort litigation, are embraced by both categories. Most of the casualty litigation is defense of insurance companies and self-insured enterprises against various forms of personal injury and death claims. These include maritime, premises liability, motor vehicle, and other common casualties. The commercial litigation is even more varied, including both defense and prosecution of claims involving breach of contract, civil RICO, ERISA, insurance coverage, construction, securities, professional liability, business torts and antitrust. When appropriate, we also team with members of our tax, estate, health care, energy, and labor and employment practice groups to litigate matters that fall within those specialties.

The Litigation Practice Group includes an appellate practice subgroup that specialize in appeals to the federal and state courts of appeal and supreme courts.

Attorneys

NamePhoneEmailLocation
Cabes, Robert337-232-3929rcabes@millinglaw.comLafayette
Capitelli, Andrew985-871-3924acapitelli@millinglaw.comNorthshore New Orleans
Chapman, Benjamin M.225-291-7300bchapman@millinglaw.comBaton Rouge
Collings, Chadwick985-871-3924ccollings@millinglaw.comNorthshore New Orleans
Corenswet, Jay504-569-7149jcorensw@millinglaw.comNew Orleans
Fontenot, F. Frank225-291-7300ffonteno@millinglaw.comBaton Rouge
Irvin, James K.504-569-7280jirvin@millinglaw.comNew Orleans
Laborde, Stephanie225-291-7300slaborde@millinglaw.comBaton Rouge
Lizarraga, Juan J.504-569-7000jlizarra@millinglaw.comNew Orleans
Marshall Jr., Charles D.504-569-7000marshall@millinglaw.comNew Orleans
Schneidau, Thomas985-871-3924tschneidau@millinglaw.comNorthshore New Orleans